Interests

The days you’re your own best friend 

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love my friends. They’re some of the most amazing people and I love being around them. But there are times you need to just amuse yourself. Either your friends are away or they’re just not free. And that’s when you become your own best friend for the time being.

Admittedly, this does sound a little strange, but hear me out – it’s not really as odd as it sounds.

Over the summer, I’ve found myself doing literally anything to get out of the house, whether it’s with friends or not. But when I’m not with anyone else, I’ve spent a lot of time at coffee shops, reading and writing and buzzing from all the caffeine.

And I’ve actually really loved every minute of it. There’s something so therapeutic about it. You’re surrounded by so many other people, so you’re never really alone. Sometimes you’ll even find yourself in a conversation with someone, even if it’s a passing comment. And I think that’s pretty lovely.

But anyway, over the past few weeks, I have learned to “enjoy my own company”. It’s amazing how quickly the time passes when you’re completely lost in your book or when you’ve become totally invested in the new blog post you’re writing. And the atmosphere of a nice coffee shop, for me anyway, makes it a whole lot better.

So I’ve realised that spending my days doing this has become my new favourite thing. Even if there isn’t anyone I know with me, I don’t necessarily feel alone. And once you’ve got to that point, your own company doesn’t seem quite so bad.

Leave a Reply

