Health

A year ago, anxiety weighed me down. Now, I’m about to move abroad

Things were pretty bad a year ago. I had plans to get a flat with a friend and we even had one secured. I was finally about to have more independence and my own space, which was really exciting. It was definitely a positive change. But then the anxiety started to get worse and worse. The panic attacks became more frequent and my health wasn’t as good as it should have been. It felt awful having to let go of the flat. I felt terrible for letting my friend down. It was so disappointing for so many reasons. I can’t remember having ever felt worse. It was the most horrible thing.

But a year on from that, everything is completely different. The anxiety is now far better than it was and I’m now able to do loads more than I could a year ago.

And now, I actually am moving away. What’s more exciting is that I’m moving to a foreign country for a few months. As an aspiring foreign correspondent, it’s the most fantastic thing.

It’s the greatest feeling in the world knowing that things are moving forward. And the best part is being able to look back and see how far I’ve come from that terrible place. I can finally get that sense of independence I missed out on a year ago. It has also highlighted to me the vital importance of seeking help when you need it. If I hadn’t last year, I know that everything would have been completely different right now. I would definitely encourage anyone who needs help to simply ask for it. Because I know from experience that it really does go far in making things better again.

4 thoughts on “A year ago, anxiety weighed me down. Now, I’m about to move abroad

Leave a Reply

